Nautical Christmas

Hello there! I am joining in on the Waltzingmouse Stamps pajama party tonight for the first time. Hooray!! Although these days staying up too late is about 10:00 pm, even if I do have the perpetual raccoon eyes of an all-nighter (thanks motherhood), so had to pre-schedule this post and will link up in the morning 🙂

Nautical_Christmas_Anchor_Sailor_Waltzingmouse_Pink_Paislee_Card_Tag_Sabrina_Alery

I picked up my very first WMS stamp sets earlier this fall, and since both are nautical themed, I had to get a bit creative to make them work for Christmas time!

Nautical_Christmas_Anchor_Sailor_Waltzingmouse_Pink_Paislee_Card_Tag_Sabrina_Alery_1

Normally I am a rustic, traditional red, green and white kind of Christmas gal but picked out some faded blues and creams for this card. Adding a bow + gold to just about anything makes it instantly festive! Plus it gave me a chance to use that little scrap of netting that has been in the random bits container forever.

Nautical_Christmas_Anchor_Sailor_Waltzingmouse_Pink_Paislee_Card_Tag_Sabrina_Alery_2

The “sailor boy” sentiment – is it just me, or when you say it does it feel a bit frisky? We don’t live anywhere near the ocean and my husband is a plumber, but I imagine giving this set to my burly, bearded sailor before he heads out on another long fishing journey – destined to be away from home for the holidays. (Perhaps we’ve been watching too many reality deep-sea fishing shows) 🙂

Nautical_Christmas_Anchor_Sailor_Waltzingmouse_Pink_Paislee_Card_Tag_Sabrina_Alery_3

A happy accident, but the ledger on the side of the paper ended up having the number 25 as a fun little detail.

So nautical Christmas, is that a thing? I hope so!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the thank you challenge, I went more CAS with a splash of color and embossed anchor. Breaking out the spray ink always makes me a little nervous (and normally never goes on as imagined) but I think it gives a nice  water spray effect to the background.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These log slice ornaments are a little truer to our rustic Christmas decor style. The hubby cuts them for me and they are perfect for stamping on. Last year I used some for coaster gifts and this year they are being made into ornaments.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So that’s it from me! It was so much fun putting these stamps to work and getting ahead on a bit of the holiday to-do list. Thanks for stopping in!

Also linking up to these challenges:
Waltzingmouse Fanatics Challenge – Christmas
Studio Calico Weekly Challenge – Add sparkle

Supplies
(Deck the Halls Sailor Boy Card + Tag)
Ink: Colorbox Classic Pigment Ink – Frost White, Gold, Celadon, Abyss
Stamps: Waltzingmouse Stamps – Ocean Bound; Papertrey Ink – Bells & Boughs; Pink by Design – Map Background
Patterned Paper: Pink Paislee

(Thanks Matey Card)
Ink: Colorbox Premium Dye Ink – Nautical, Cornflower, Jalepeno
Stamps: Waltzingmouse Stamps – Ocean Bound; Papertrey Ink – Watercolor Wonder

(Ornaments)
Ink: Colorbox Crafter’s Ink – Wave, Aruba
Stamps: Waltzingmouse Stamps – Ocean Bound

15 thoughts on “Nautical Christmas

  1. You are so clever – I love your nautical Christmas theme! Fun projects! I just started making matching envelopes and you’ve put together a fabulous set. Well done.

  2. Oh you made me smile and LOL with this post. I love this set and the dream man you made it for 🙂 Perfect colors for a sailor. All your projects are beautiful and home spun. Welcome to your first WMS PJ party .

  3. What a wonderful and creative job you did using your nautical set for Christmas projects Sabrina! SO glad you came to the PJ party to share them – love the splatter thanks, your rustic wooden ornaments and pretty cards – gold and ribbon DOES make almost any card Christmasy!! Well done!

  4. OK Sabrina, I think I will just take a moment to pull my jaw back up off the ground…that’s better, well where do I start, I feel a bit of a fake just trying to cover it all with one word – Amazing, but that’s what it is, I absolutely LOVE your take on the Nautical Christmas and I will be pinning you stuff all over our Pinterest board if that is alright with you – I am in awe of it all, and I will be back to soak in the details, these are sooo, so good! thank you so much for coming to our PJ party!

  5. OK Sabrina, I think I will just take a moment to pull my jaw back up off the ground…that’s better, well where do I start, I feel a bit of a fake just trying to cover it all with one word – Amazing, but that’s what it is, I absolutely LOVE your take on the Nautical Christmas and I will be pinning you stuff all over our Pinterest board if that is alright with you – I am in awe of it all, and I will be back to soak in the details, these are sooo, so good! thank you so much for coming to our PJ party!

  6. I love the nautical Christmas theme and living in the Midwest always wonder what it would be like to be near the coast during the holidays. SO many beautiful designs here – very clever and creative Sabrina!

  7. Well if nautical Christmas isn’t a”thing” it should be! Love your take on it – the log decorations are fabulous! Thanks so much for joining our challenge at Waltzingmouse Fanatics too – your card is perfect.
    Tara

  8. Fabulous work. Came to see the nautical splatter card – ingenius and left just in love with those “slice of wood” tags. You are one lucky gal to 1) have that wood supply and 2) have that hubby 🙂

  9. Wow! I love your non-traditional Christmas card – the nautical theme is brilliant. Thanks so much for playing along with Waltzingmouse Fanatics. I love the rustic ornaments too!

Leave a Reply

